An analysis of my lipstick, was it as safe as it claimed to be?

An analysis of my lipstick, was it as safe as it claimed to be?

So I’m scanning my bathroom with the apps ‘think dirty’ and EWG skin deep. What I’m finding is that I buy from small companies, often self-run and they just aren’t in there!

So I’m becoming my own safety sleuth in the pursuit of learning about what goes on my skin. I already know from trial and error that Dimethicone (a silicone based smoothing agent in most face creams and foundations) gives me cystic acne. It makes your skin look and feel lovely, but traps everything under that layer of product. So even if your face is clean when you put it on, a few hours later it’s not so good… think laundry you left in the washing machine when it gets that lovely stank haha.

But what about my lipstick? I Love my lipstick! Lipstick and Mascara are my go to products~ all my mascaras were toxic so -flip- in the bin they went. I’ve moved to a cake mascara that doesn’t need preservatives. (Also, side note, tube mascaras have a 3-month life after opened~ not that they tell you that!) More on that another time.

I’ve side tracked! Lipstick. I’m trying to focus on my lipstick. Anyone else do this when they try to make a life change? I want to change so much at once that I end up changing nothing!

Lipstick.

The brand I buy is Bésame, they’re gluten free and I LOVE this brand. I love their motto, their history, their founder and that they are hand made in small batches, they say they use safe products that are researched as well. BUT, I don’t really know how healthy they are… So I’m going to break down the ingredients in my favourite shade one by one. I’m going to use the EWG database (google EWG skin deep~) to find them. Green means it’s safe, yellow means caution, and red well… red is just a no go! Let’s see where we end up.

I’m lucky Bésame use the same formula for the lipsticks in every shade, they just change the pigments used, so I’ll be investigating all the ingredients on the list~

GREEN: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Caprylic Capric Tryglyceride, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Octyldodecanol, Ozokerite Wax, Kaolin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate – 1, Bis- Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate – 2, Cetyl Palmitate, Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Microcrystalline Wax, Thihydroxystearin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Chamomilla RecuPta (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Carpylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Ethyl Vanillin, Mica (CI 77019), Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Iron Oxide (CI77492), Iron Oxide (CI 77499), Carmine (CI 75470), Red 27 Aluminum Lake (CI 45410), Red 28 Aluminum Lake (CI 45410), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090:2).

YELLOW:

4 – Myristyl Lactate: is an ester of myristyl alcohol and lactic acid. It’s used for skin conditioning. Suspected environmental toxin, incomplete evidence of cancer according to safety data sheet. Can not be classified or excluded as a human carcinogen due to gaps in testing, however, it’s been determined ‘safe’ for use in cosmetics. Calcified as not harmful to organs.

3 – Tocopheryl Acetate – a mixture of aceteric acid and tocopherol (vitamin E). Skin conditioning agent, strong evidence to show it’s a skin toxicant or allergen, one or more studies on animals show tumour formation in high doses. Suspected environmental toxin. Contamination concern with a level 9 toxin (hydroquinone) Concern a ‘safe limit’ was placed on product meaning misuse as an ingredient can cause harm. 5,742 studies on toxicity in this chemical. Organ toxicity classifies as not to be potentially toxic, low human health risk. Safe for limited use in food.

1 or 3 – Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract – Possible human carcinogen (only for IF NON-DECOLORIZED)

1 to 3 – Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) – Titanium dioxide is an inorganic compound used in a range of body care products such as sunscreens and makeup. It appears to have low skin penetration but inhalation is a concern. Possible human carcinogen (only for inhalation AND products that may be aerosolized (airborne))

3 – Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), CI 19140 is classed chemically as a pyrazole colour, Restricted in cosmetics (recommendations or requirements) – use, concentration, or manufacturing restrictions – Organ toxicity – Classified as medium human health priority, C classified as not expected to be potentially toxic or harmful

4 – Red 6 Barium Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850:I) classed as a monoazo colour – Cancer – weight of evidence unknown/unassessed, organ toxicity Classified as not expected to be potentially toxic or harmful, insufficient data to determine safety.

__________________________________________________________________________________

What I’m taking from these answers.

Firstly, nothing red, that’s  positive! and Besame uses ingredients in their lipstick that are listed as ‘low human health risk’, ‘safe for cosmetic use’ and ‘not expected to be potentially harmful’ to humans.

I’m actually happy with these results. After using this app over many products some ingredients I’ve seen are known dangers, and they’re put in the products anyway. The question I have to ask myself now is whether I’m willing to keep using the products despite the cautions?

That’s what this all comes down to for me. My informed choice.

And I am going to choose to keep the lipsticks I have in this brand, but investigate better alternatives (possibly with all green ingredients) while I use them up. So I won’t be purchasing anymore~ Despite my love for this family owned brand.

What did you think of the listed warning on the yellow, use with caution, ingredients?

Kat xo

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

