SAFE MASCARA! I already owned it, fancy that!

When I was trying to remove all traces of gluten from my life, my cousin introduced me to a brand called Red Apple Lipstick (RAL for short). Surprisingly they started ‘The Lash Project’ not long after I started buying from them. Which was great for me because I used to get so many styes. They weren’t bad, just consistent! every other week I’d have a swollen follicle at the base of one of my lashes and I’d apply a warm compress and go without mascara for a few days.

So when the lash project came along I thought I’d give it a go. And was it great! The only problem for me was that I had to get it from America…. so it took weeks to ship and the conversion rate often affected its affordability.

I moved to a cake mascara, I love my cake! a clean brush every time, no contamination of the cake, and no tube growing germs. But after doing some research I found my cake mascaras main ingredient is Cyclopentasiloxane. Cyclopentasiloxane (Cyclomethicone) is a silicon-based cyclic compound; may be associated with environmental toxicity. Bio accumulative (it stays in your body with prolonged use), One or more animal studies show tumour formation at moderate doses, One or more animal studies show endocrine disruption at moderate doses. Neurotoxicity, one or more animal studies show effects at moderate doses, suspected environmental toxin.

EWG said Cyclopentasiloxane (Cyclomethicone) is a silicon-based cyclic compound; may be associated with environmental toxicity. Bio accumulative (it stays in your body with prolonged use), One or more animal studies show tumour formation at moderate doses, One or more animal studies show endocrine disruption at moderate doses. Neurotoxicity, one or more animal studies show effects at moderate doses, suspected environmental toxin.

Now even though it has no human studies listed, I didn’t find neurotoxicity and tumours in animals very positive….

So I decided to punch in the ingredients for RAL’s Lash Project. Was I happy, hell yes!

Green: Water, Acrylate Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Iron Oxides, Carnauba Wax, Glycerin, Synthetic Beeswax, Tromethamine, Polyvinylalcohol, Mica, Silica, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Bergamot Leaf Extract, Octapeptide-2, Acorus Calamus Root Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Allantoin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin.

All green! every ingredient! A Huge green light!! I’ll just have to save up and put in an order once a year from here on out. Unless anyone knows a good, safe, mascara available in Australia?

Kat xo

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

